Wednesday, 3 August 2016

Opal Cowan Trilogy 3 Books Collection Set (Glass, #1-3)Opal Cowan Trilogy 3 Books Collection Set by Maria V. Snyder

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At first I was inclined to dismiss the Glass series as just another YA fantasy collection. But it's more than that. Simple and yet evocative, beautifully written, with engaging characters, difficult situations, and a great sense of humour, this is a series to which I'm sure I will return in years to come.

Initially I thought Opal would be one of those flighty, breathless, overly romantic heroines. But she turned out to be strong - physically as well as mentally - and conflicted, more than just a shallow figurehead. She gets herself into trouble, but somehow finds her way out, either the good way, with the help of her friends, or else in a way that costs her more than the reader expects. There were times I couldn't believe the unfairness of what was happening to her. But it all led up to a gripping tale that I couldn't put down.

Don't get me wrong - I wasn't completely convinced by all her decisions and there were times - especially at the end - when I completely disagreed with what she was doing. Still, that was the point, I think - that she didn't always do the expected. That she didn't conform. And that she had to learn to rebel.

All in all, a worthwhile read.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

Go ahead, make me laugh.

Remember kids: comments on posts older than 7 days are moderated.